The WTC final continues in 2025 between Australia and South African at London’s Lords ground. The third day of the match will be on Friday (June 13). But on the second day of the match (June 12) South African batsman David Bedingham did something that created a ruckus in the field. If it happened, then understand that?
The 49th over of South Africa’s first innings was being bewster. Batting was doing david bedingham. The third ball of this over was faced by David Bedingham. But Australian players appealed for ‘Obstructing the Field’. Watch the video first …
The incident was such that Bedingham tried to play the ball of Bo Webster, due to which the ball got stuck in the flap of his pad with the inner edge of his bat. The ball was a slight move and wicketkeeper Alex Carry was moving forward for the catch, when Bedingham himself picked up the ball and dropped it near his feet.
Usman Khwaja and Steve Smith made a light appeal on this. The umpires talked among themselves and ruled that the ball was ‘dead’, that is, no one would be out. Umpire Illingworth also raised his hand and also indicated a ‘dead ball’.
However, some people felt that the ball was not completely stopping, so this matter became a little disputed. But the umpires called Bedingham not out in view of the rules of rules. Thankfully, this decision could not affect the match much, as Bedingham (45) was dismissed soon after lunch.
Handled the Ball/Handling the Ball- In the game of cricket, one of the ways to dismiss the batsman, but in 2017 when the rules of cricket were re -written, it was included in the Obstructing the Field.
Obstructing the Field –If a batsman deliberately obstructs the fielder, he is declared out, including stopping the fielder’s thrown ball.
Handled the Ball- If a batsman touches the ball by hand without the permission of the opposition team, then he is declared out under the rule that disrupts the field.
What do ICC rules say?
According to ICC Rule 37.3.1:
– If a batsman deliberately prevents a fielder from taking a catch, he will be considered out under ‘Obstructing the Field’.
– In this case, since the ball did not hit the ground, if Carrie had taken it out of the pad and catch it, Bedingham could have been out.
But above this rule Rule is 20.1.1.4, which says:
-If the ball gets trapped between the batsman’s bat and body or in their clothes/equipment, then that ball will be considered as ‘dead ball’.
The matter became a bit complicated here, because according to some people, the ball was not completely stopped at that time, that is, there could have been doubt in declaring the dead ball, some said that Bedingham deliberately touched the ball by hand, so he should have been considered out. While the other party argued that the ball should be considered dead at that time according to the spirit of rules.
However, Australia did not suffer any major loss due to this incident. At that time, Bedingham was batting for 31* and after lunch, Pat was dismissed soon on the ball of Cummins. He could not bring South Africa to a strong position in the first innings.
Source: https://www.aajtak.in/sports/cricket/story/wtc-final-2025-handling-the-ball-chaos-lords-test-south-africa-david-bedingham-not-out-handling-the-ball-australia-team-shocked-obstruction-the-field-rules-tspok-dskc-2262843-2025-06-13
Leave a Reply